Tags

, ,

20140724_173455

Schedules have changed recently in our house, so I am doing more cooking. So far it is going well, thanks to help from my friend Leslie, Allrecipes.com, and some luck!  Tim and I are both still alive to talk about it anyways! 🙂

I wanted to use up the veggies from the farmers market so they didn’t go bad.  This was not the healthiest meal for us by any means, but it sure tasted good.

When I was in high school, I worked at a small restaurant. One of the sandwiches the chef served was a White House Sandwich. It was open faced toast with turkey, broccoli and a white sauce.  That was the inspiration for this meal.  I made wheat toast, cubed chicken, carrots, and broccoli.  The unhealthy part…the cream soup base I poured over the top.

Below is the recipe for the cream soup base (This is HALF of what the original recipe is on Allrecipes.com).  I have used it several times for various dishes, and I really enjoy it (as unhealthy as it may be ).  I was tempted to add some shredded sharp cheddar cheese, but I did not.  I’m sure that would have been yummy as well!

Cream Soup Base (found on Allrecipes.com)

1/4 cup butter
3 Tablespoons flour
1 cup milk
1 cube chicken bouillon (I have also used vegetable.)
ground black pepper to taste

Melt the butter in a saucepan. Add the flour and mix to a paste consistency. Add milk and bouillon. Cook over low heat until thickened.

You can add more milk depending on the consistency you want. I usually end up adding another good 1/2 Tablespoon of flour.

These are some tips from the Allrecipes website:
To this base you may add steamed broccoli and American cheese; or chunks of baked potato (peel and all) with American cheese, bacon pieces, and chives; or pureed, stewed tomatoes for a bisque; or leeks that have been cleaned well, steamed, and chopped; or cooked asparagus cut in pieces (if canned asparagus is used, add some of the liquid as well), topped with grated cheese and bacon pieces.

http://www.allrecipes.com

Thank you for stopping by. Have a great day!

 

