Tags

,

Saturday night I had no idea what to make for supper. I had thawed out a package of boneless skinless chicken breasts. I went to my usual go to website. http://www.allrecipes.com

There is this feature that allows you to search for a recipe based on ingredients you do and do not want. Mushrooms are ALWAYS on the do not! 🙂 So I plugged in chicken breast, cheese and pasta. This recipe is one of many that came up.

image

Cheesy Chicken and Salsa Skillet
From Kraft

Ingredients:
2 cups multigrain penne pasta, uncooked
1 pound boneless skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
1 1/4 cup salsa (they recommend Taco Bell home originals thick n chunky)
1 cup frozen corn, thawed
1 large green pepper, cut into strips
1 cup Kraft Mexican Style 2% Milk finely Shredded Four Cheese

Directions:
1. Cook pasta as directed on package, omitting salt.
2. Meanwhile, heat large nonstick skillet sprayed with cooking spray on medium-high heat. Add chicken; cook and stir 2 minutes. Stir in salsa, corn & peppers. Bring to a boil. Simmer on medium-low heat for 10 minutes or until chicken is done, stirring occasionally.
3. Drain pasta, add to chicken mixture; mix lightly. Top with cheese. Remove from heat and cover. Let stand 1 minute or until cheese is melted.
4.  ENJOY!

Notes: I cooked my bite size chicken until I knew it was done before adding the other stuff. Also, there was not enough liquid to bring it to a boil. I just stirred it all together until it was all heated through.  We added Southwest strips to ours. We thought it could use a little more spice. I will add some Adobo seasoning to it next time.

