Tags

,

I experimented a couple of weeks ago and made an apple pie. I got some advice from Mom, and then I went for it.  I did use a Pillsbury pie crust, and I sort of followed the recipe on the side of the box. Please see the notes at the end for adjustments I made.

Perfect Apple Pie
by Pillsbury and my Mom

1 Pillsbury refrigerated pie crust, softened as directed on the box

Filling:
6 cups thinly sliced, peeled apples
3/4 cup sugar
2 Tablespoons flour
3/4 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/8 teaspoon ground nutmeg
1 Tablespoon lemon juice

Topping: (Mom’s recipe)
1/2 cup butter
1/2 cup packed brown sugar
1 cup flour

Directions:
Heat oven to 425 degrees. Place pie crust in ungreased 9 inch pie plate. Press firmly against side and bottom.

In a large bowl, gently mix the filling ingredients. Spoon into crust lined pie plate.

Mix together topping ingredients until crumbly. I use a fork. Spread evenly over filling.

image

image

Bake 40-45 minutes or until apples are tender and crust is golden brown. If your crust starts to get too brown while baking, cover with aluminum foil. Cool on cooling rack at least two hours before serving.

image

Enjoy!!!

image

image

NOTES:
I put my oven to 375. I sliced my apples quite thin. I used 2 teaspoons of apple pie spice instead on the cinnamon and nutmeg.

