Tags

,

Hey everyone!  It is almost time to get the Christmas baking started!  I know some already have.  I plan on having a marathon baking day on December 21st.  I wanted to share one of the treats I will be making.  I made these for Tim for his birthday, and he LOVED them.  They are rich he said. I am not a coconut fan, so I did not eat any of them.

This recipe is from the blog Whisking Away Your Worries.  It said it was adapted from the Southern Living recipe.

Coconut Snowballs
Ingredients:
3 cups sweetened flaked coconut
2 cups powdered sugar (The recipe recommended sifting. I did not do this, and they were fine.)
1/2 cup unsalted butter, melted
1 cup semisweet chocolate chips (I used Guittard All Natural found at Woodman’s.)
1 teaspoon shortening

Directions:
1. In a large bowl, mix the first three ingredients. Roll into bite-sized balls and place on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet.
2. In a microwave safe bowl, melt together the chocolate chips and shortening. I do this in 30 second intervals to prevent burning.
3. Dip the balls into the melted chocolate. Return dipped balls to the cookie sheet. Store in the refrigerator until ready to be served. Keep leftovers in an airtight container in the refrigerator.

Enjoy!

20140213_213223

Mine are not very pretty, but as I said, Tim said they were yummy! 🙂

http://whiskawayyourworries.wordpress.com/

