Tags

,

I baked and baked and baked cookies this weekend. Forty four dozen cookies and five dozen muffins give or take a few cookies. Whew! It is so fun to make the trays and share them!

My Mom’s neighbors help her so much, so a lot of cookies go to them. I appreciate them so much!

For one of the types of cookie, I wanted to do something different. I wanted to do a chocolate cookie with red and green M&M’s. I know my chocolate chip cookie dough is great, so how do I make it chocolate? How much cocoa should I add? Chef Mark Brown (thank you!) said 1/2 – 3/4 cup depending how chocolatey I wanted them. I went with 1/2 cup, and they are (in my opinion) perfect!

image

Chocolate M&M Cookies
Ingredients:
2 1/4 cups all purpose flour
1 teaspoon baking soda
1 teaspoon salt
1 cup (2 sticks) butter
3/4 cup granulated sugar
3/4 cup packed brown sugar
1/2 cup cocoa
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 large eggs
1 3/4 cups M&M’s

Directions: (from Nestle choc chip bag – mostly)
Preheat oven to 375 degrees.
Combine flour, baking soda and salt in small bowl. Beat butter, granulated sugar, brown sugar, cocoa, and vanilla in large mixer bowl until creamy. Add eggs one at a time, beating well after each addition. Gradually beat in flour mixture. Stir in M&M’s. Drop by rounded tablespoon onto ungreased baking sheets. Bake for 9-11 minutes. Cool on baking sheets for 2 minutes, remove to wire racks to cool completely.

OR……

I put all but the M&M’s into my bowl for my Kitchenaid and mixed it up. Then I gently mixed in the M&M’s by hand so they stayed whole. I used the Pampered Chef Medium Scoop (approx 2 Tablespoons). I baked for 11 minutes, and they were perfect. Ovens vary though!

Enjoy! πŸ™‚

