Tags

, ,

I found another recipe at http://www.allrecipes.com. It was submitted by Rustee and called Mom’s Italian Beef Barley Soup. I used it as a starting place, and I read through the reviews and added ideas from there. My soup turned into more of a stew, and we liked it.

image

Ingredients
2 pounds beef stew meat
6 cups water
5 packets Golden’s beef broth
1/2 onion, chopped
2 cups sliced carrots
3/4 cup celery pieces
1 8 oz can tomato sauce
1 cup barley pearls
3 cloves garlic, minced
2 teaspoons thyme
2-3 Tablespoons Penzeys English Prime Rib Rub *

Brown stew meat in butter. I sprinkled this with approximately 2 tablespoons English Prime Rib Rub. While my meat was browning, I made the beef broth using the six cups of water and the packets.

Mix all ingredients together in your crock pot. I sprinkled approximately another tablespoon of English Prime Rib Rub. That was a littld too much. 🙂 Cook on low for five hours.

Based on the reviews, I made this a day ahead. When I took it out the next day, I added an additional 2 cups of broth since the barley soaked up most of the broth.  It was still more of a stew consistency. I served with warm dinner rolls.

Next time I would add more carrots and maybe some other veggies (corn or peas or potatoes).

*English Prime Rib Rub is made up of flake salt, celery, sugar, Tellicherry black pepper, toasted onion, white onion, garlic and arrowroot.

Enjoy!

