Tags

, ,

Mardi Gras is almost here!  I have never been to New Orleans.  However Tim and I do enjoy Cajun and creole food! Our favorite restaurant in the area closed a couple of years back.  Such a bummer!  They made fabulous Hurricanes, and the food was incredible! This recipe was found on allrecipes.com and was contributed by Daniel.

I absolutely LOVE this recipe. It is definitely in my top five favorite dishes to make.  I hope you enjoy it as well!  It makes a lot, but the leftovers are great!

20140304_171531

Crock Pot Jambalaya
Ingredients:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breast, cut to 1 inch cubes
8 – 12 ounces smoked sausage (Andouille)
1/2 cup chopped onion
1 green pepper, chopped
1 28 ounce can crushed tomatoes
1 cup chicken broth
1/2 cup dry white wine (if I don’t have it, I skip it)
2 teaspoons dried leaf oregano
2 teaspoons dried parsley
2 teaspoons Cajun seasoning
1 teaspoon cayenne pepper
1 pound shrimp, cooked
2 cups rice, cooked (I use a box of Zataran’s Jambalaya Rice)

Directions
Combine chicken, sausage, chopped pepper and onion in slow cooker.
Add tomatoes, wine, oregano, parsley, Cajun seasoning and cayenne.
Stir gently.
Cook on low for 6 – 8 hours.
About 30 – 45 minutes before serving, add cooked shrimp and hot cooked rice. Heat thoroughly.
(At this point I also add 1 -2 teaspoons of Penzeys Gumbo File to thicken it at bit.)
ENJOY!

Thank you for stopping by!

