Tags

,

I got mad at the sauce. It would not boil and thicken. Two days later, when we were cleaning up the leftovers, Tim told me I should have turned up the heat and watched it closely. I really understand him not wanting to tell me when I was making it. I was cranky! The first night it was soupy. Remember the sauce didn’t boil, and I did not let it rest before serving. My bad! The leftovers were very yummy! We shared some with our neighbor and her dear friend. They enjoyed it as well! Give this one a try, but please learn from my errors! Not as pretty as the pictures on Facebook, but it was good! I don’t know who to give credit to. It was posted on the Foodgasms Facebook page.

image

image

Chicken Cordon Bleu Lasagna

Ingredients:
1 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken
1/2 cup chicken broth
1 lb lasagna noodles
1 teaspoon salt
1 Tablespoon vegetable oil
8 oz shredded ham
Parsley
Any amount of cheese you like (I used 22 square slices of Swiss)
Sauce:
1 1/8 cup butter
11 Tablespoons flour
3 cups milk
2 1/4 cups half & half
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
2 1/4 cups grated Parmesan
1 teaspoon salt

Directions:
Cook chicken in pan or Dutch oven with 1/2 cup broth and small amount of water. Cool and cut into bite size pieces. Save broth. Cook lasagna noodles with salt and oil. Drain and spread on waxed paper. Melt butter, add flour, cook and stir slowly; add milk, half & half and broth. Cook until boiling, stirring constantly. Add cheese and parsley. Grease a 9 x 13″ pan. Spread a little sauce on the bottom of the pan and layer noodles, sauce, chicken and ham, cheese. Repeat three times ending with sauce. (I ended with cheese!) Bake at 350 degrees for 30 minutes uncovered. Enjoy!

I think it needed more chicken and ham, but that is just my opinion. I cubed up my chicken prior to cooking it instead of after. I had the deli shred my ham. Good stuff! Not a cheap meal, so I won’t make it often.

Thank you for stopping by! 🙂

