Tags

, ,

I will be forever thankful to my Uncle Bill for introducing our family to The Highground. It is a little known veterans tribute near the center of the state.  Most people who know me know that I am VERY patriotic. I support our military, and I am so thankful to all of the men and women that serve our great nation. This park is such an amazing tribute to our veterans – including my Dad, my Uncle Jim, my Uncle Bill and my Uncle Jim (yes two uncles named Jim)!

Over the next few months I will share some pictures Tim took and the story behind some of the tributes.

The Highground is located in central Wisconsin. It is 30 miles east of Osseo from the junction of I94 and Highway 10. This is also just 4 miles west of Neillsville on Highway 10.

The Highground pays tribute to the dead and honors the survivors, their service and sacrifices. There is a tribute in the park for each war that Wisconsin military personnel have served in. The Persian Gulf tribute is currently being built.

Besides the tributes,  there is a Learning Center that has a library, media center and gallery. There ia also a nice gift shop. At the gift shop you can pick up their free audio tour. Tim and I did the tour, and it was very nice!

Picnic tables, shelters and public restrooms are available. The park is 148 acres, and it has four miles of walking trails. The Highground is handicap accessible.

The Highground is run by volunteers and does not rely on on-going federal or state funding.

Taken from their brochure:
It is the mission of The Highground to honor veterans and their families and to educate about the cost of things – the human cost.

It is the vision of The Highground to honor human courage and sacrifice wherever it is displayed, without either denying or glorifying the pain and suffering of war and of life.

I strongly urge you to visit The Highground. Feel the history. Take in the beauty of the area. Honor our veterans. God bless our veterans!

