Tags

,

I had a pound of ground chuck to use for supper.  I was not in the mood for a quick and usually overly salty Hamburger Helper.  I also had carrots I needed to use up. I went searching for a recipe.  This turned out yummy, and I will definitely make it again. The recipe says the carrots will cook as the casserole bakes, but I didn’t want to take any chances. I cooked the carrots while the beef was browning. 🙂 This is edited a bit, but I will share the link to the original recipe at the end .

wpid-20150223_205544.jpg

Cheesy Ground Beef Casserole
Ingredients:
1 cup uncooked rice (Minute Rice)
2 cups water
1 lb. ground beef, cooked
1 cup carrots, cooked (I will add more next time.)
1 can cream of mushroom soup (I made a double batch of cream soup base.)
Shredded Colby Jack or Cheddar cheese for topping

Directions:
Heat oven to 350 degrees and grease an 8×9 pan (I used a pie plate). Whisk together the water and can of soup. Add the rice and cooked beef and carrots to the bowl and stir to combine. Dump into the 8×9 baking dish and bake uncovered for 90 minutes. Add cheese and return to oven for another couple of minutes our until the cheese is melted. ENJOY!

The original recipe:
http://www.ohsweetbasil.com/quick-and-easy-dinner-idea-rice-casserole.html

Thank you for stopping by!

