Tags

, ,

Tim and I spent a great day together walking along the Milwaukee River Walk and through the Third Ward. I love spending time down there, and thankfully Tim enjoys it as well. Tim showed me around to a few things I had not seen on our previous walks down there. One of the sculptures that caught my attention is called the Stratiformis.

image

The sculpture was built in 2006 by Jin Soo Kim and students from the Milwaukee Institute of Art and Design. It is made of pieces of manufacturing equipment from the Reliable Knitting Company as well as rusted rebar hand-wrapped with galvanized and copper wire.

Reliable Knitting made wool hats, gloves and hockey socks.  They were the last company in the United States to make them.

It is located in Catalano Square near the intersection of Erie Street and Young Street in the Third Ward. Check it out if you head down there.

Thank you for stopping by!

