Tags

,

I have really been having issues with what to make with hamburger lately. Why have hamburger then you ask? It is cheap and usually cooks pretty quickly. Did I mention it is cheaper than other cuts of beef? On a tight budget, it is my go to for beef. Well, I do make a roast or buy some stew meat once in a while, but usually we buy ground chuck.

I had a picture of these little pieces of yumminess, but the lighting was funky. I need to find a good place in the kitchen to take pictures where the color doesn’t get all distorted. 🙂

I had never made meatballs in the past. I was scared they would fall apart or be funky. I love that this recipe bakes them. No frying! Woot! Woot! These did not fall apart, and oh my goodness were they super easy to make!

We had meatball subs and a creamy garlic Knorr Pasta side for supper that night. I will DEFINITELY be making these again!

Jen’s Incredible Baked Meatballs

Ingredients:
1 pound hamburger
2 eggs slightly beaten with 1/2 cup milk
1/2 cup grated Parmesan
1 cup panko or bread crumbs
1 small onion, minced (I uses a teaspoon of onion powder.)
2-3 cloves garlic, minced
1/2 teaspoon oregano
1 teaspoon salt (I did not use this.)
freshly ground pepper to taste
1/4 cup minced fresh flat-leaf parsley or basil (I uses basil.)

Directions:
Mix all ingredients with hands. Form into golf ball sized meatballs. Bake at 350 degress for 30 minutes.

http://cookwithhoney.blogspot.com/2012/04/jens-incredible-baked-meatballs.html

I wanted my meatballs to be pretty much the same size, so I used the Large Scoop from Pampered Chef to scoop my meatballs. I had a little over a pound of beef. I was able to make 14 meatballs. I lined my cookie sheet with parchment paper, and that made cleanup later really easy! I also warmed up a can of pasta sauce to pour over the meatballs on the sub rolls and topped that with additional shredded Parmesan.

https://www.pamperedchef.com/shop/Bakeware/Pastry+%26+Baking+Tools/Large+Scoop/1790

One funny side note. We had about a half cup of bread crumbs left. I thought, well, ok, I will use some oatmeal. I didn’t have any. I had used that up and was 1/4 cup short last time I made oatmeal butterscotch cookies! The only cereal I had (that I remembered) was Honey Nut Cheerios. Not a good combination! I had completely forgotten about the corn flakes and rice krispies in the closet, but they are about 1,000 years old and should probably be tossed out. I did find some cheese flavored croutons in the cupboard, so I smashed those up and came up with about the necessary needed amount of crumbs. WHEW!

Thank you for stopping by!

