Tags

, ,

I was chatting with my friend Kim about what to have for supper. This is a conversation we have almost every day. I had boneless, skinless chicken breasts thawing out. She and I were both looking online, and she sent me a link to this recipe. I didn’t have all of the ingredients, but it sounded good! On our next grocery shopping trip, I picked up the missing ingredients. I bought a 14 oz can of small Artichoke hearts instead of frozen. Drain and rinse them if you do the same.

A word of warning. When working with turmeric DO NOT EVER get it on your clothing because it will never ever ever come out. Betcha can’t guess how I know that!

image

Moroccan Chicken Stew with Artichoke Hearts and Carrots
Ingredients:
3 Tablespoons olive oil
2 onions, chopped
6 garlic cloves, minced
1 Tablespoon ground coriander
1 Tablespoon ground cumin
1 Tablespoon paprika
1 teaspoon turmeric
4 cups low salt chicken broth
1 teaspoon finely grated lemon zest
2 1/2 pounds boneless, skinless chicken breasts, cut to one inch cubes
1 pound frozen Artichoke hearts
1 pound carrots, peeled and diced
Kosher salt and black pepper
Steamed couscous
Chopped flat parsley

Directions:
Heat oil in large heavy pot over medium-high heat. Add onions and saute until tender and starting to caramelize, about 8 minutes. Stir in garlic and next four ingredients and cook until fragrant, about 1 minute. Add broth and lemon zest and bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium; stir in chicken, artichoke hearts, and carrots; simmer until vegetables are tender and chicken is cooked through, 10-15 minutes. Season to taste with salt and pepper. Divide couscous among shallow bowls; spoon stew over and garnish with parsley.
Enjoy!
Thank you for stopping by!

