Tags

,

Hi!  Sorry I have not shared a recipe lately.  Quite honestly, we have been doing a lot of quick meals like grilled pork chops or burgers and frozen pizza.  I brought this recipe home last week Monday I think it was, and Tim was a sweetheart and made it.

I did help!  I tore up the lettuce.  I prefer to tear my lettuce because as I was taught it does not brown as quickly if you tear it vs. cutting it with a knife.  Back in the days when I worked at the restaurant, I had to tear up a case of lettuce (24 heads) every Thursday night for our Friday night fish fry salad bar.  I am pretty darn good at it! 🙂

The lettuce IN MY OPINION was a bit funky in this, but Tim thought it was ok.  So, you decide and let me know.

wpid-20150817_180235.jpg

Taco Pasta Salad

Ingredients:
2 cups spiral pasta
1 pound ground beef
1 1.25 oz package taco seasoning
3 cups shredded lettuce
2 cups halved cherry tomatoes
1 cup shredded Cheddar cheese
1/2 cup chopped onion
1/2 cup French Salad Dressing (We used Wish Bone Deluxe French.)
1 7 oz bag of corn chips (I bought tortilla chips as they were cheaper.)
2 Tablespoons sour cream

Directions:
1. Bring a large pot of lightly salted water to a boil. Cook spiral pasta at a boil, stirring occasionally, until cooked through yet firm to the bite.

2. Heat a large skillet over medium-high heat and stir in ground beef. Cook and stir until beef is crumbly, evenly browned, and no longer pink. Drain and discard any excess grease. Stir taco seasoning into beef. Cool.

3. Stir beef mixture into pasta, toss lettuce, tomatoes Cheddar cheese, onion, French dressing, and corn chips into the pasta mixture. Top with sour cream.

ENJOY!

Note: We used our Taco Seasoning from Savory Spices instead of the packet.  YUM!  Tim added sour cream to his after he put it on his plate. I did not get us tomatoes and onions. My bad! We used the chips on the side as scoops. 🙂

