Tags

,

Last week pork tenderloin was on sale at the grocery store.  I wanted a change of pace from what we usually have, so I went and picked up a package.  Turned out to be about two and a quarter pounds of meat.  I could have froze half, but I am so glad I did not.  The leftovers were even better than the meal was the first day, and I am telling you, this was YUMMY!  This recipe was shared on a foodie page I belong to on Facebook. It was found on food.com. I never even thought about taking a picture of it until I just started typing up the post. Sorry about that!

We have a huge jar of raw honey from a local bee keeper.  We prefer the raw honey because of the great health benefits of it.  I love using it in cooking too.

I made a double batch of the honey butter mixture. I did NOT add the water at the end. I just spooned the sauce over the meat. I also used more of the Cajun seasoning to rub all of the tenderloin. I do not have a pan that I can transfer back and forth from stove top to oven, so I did the first steps in a fry pan, and then transferred it all to a baking dish. Mine took about 30 minutes in the oven.  It seemed to work just fine. The leftovers were stored in the sauce, and the tenderloin did a great job of absorbing the flavor.  I truly enjoyed it better the second day.

Honey Butter Pork Tenderloin
Ingredients:
4 Tablespoons butter
2 Tablespoons honey
1 1/2 pounds pork tenderloin, trimmed
1/2 teaspoon cajun seasoning
1/2 teaspoon black pepper
3/4 cup water

Directions:
Preheat oven to 375 degrees. In an ovenproof pot, heat butter and honey over medium heat until melted. Sprinkle pork tenderloin with Cajun seasoning and black pepper. Brown each side for five minutes in the honey butter. Lower heat if honey begins to burn.

Place pot in oven and roast uncovered for 15-20 minutes (or longer depending on size and thickness of pork tenderloin). Remove pot from oven and transfer the pork to a plate. Cover with foil. Add water to the pot and stir over medium heat. Simmer for about 5 minutes until sauce is slightly reduced. Slice pork on the diagonal and drizzle sauce over top to serve.

Enjoy!

Thank you for stopping by!

