Tags

, ,

As Christmas is getting closer, I am making my shopping list for baking.  I bake for a full day, and give a majority of it away as gift plates.  Who doesn’t like to get a tray of yummy baked goodies?  The difference between me and most bakers at this time of the year is that I make family favorites (chocolate chip cookies, peanut butter cups, oatmeal butterscotch, molasses, etc), and not all the fancy Christmas stuff like spritzes.  I haven’t had any complaints, so I must not do too terribly bad! 🙂

One of my family’s favorites is this recipe Mom found years ago in one of those little cookbooks they have up by the checkouts at the grocery store.  Instead of cutting up the toffee bars though, I cheat and use the bag if pieces you can find near the chocolate chips at the grocery store. I dump the whole bag in! YUM!  Some years I grab the chocolate covered pieces, and other years I do not.  It doesn’t matter.  They are excellent either way!

This recipe does not have eggs in it, and that is correct. So I truly didn’t forget to list eggs in the ingredient list!

English Toffee Balls
Ingredients:
1/2 cup powdered sugar
1 cup butter, softened
1 small box vanilla instant pudding (3.5 ounce size)
2 cups flour
1 Tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla
3 3/4 ounce chocolate covered english toffee bars, crushed
powdered sugar for coating the cookies after baking

Directions:
Heat oven to 325 degrees.
In a largo bowl, beat powdered sugar, butter and pudding mix until light and fluffy.
Lightly spoon flour into measuring cup, level off.
Add flour, milk, vanilla, and crushed toffee bars. Mix well.
Shape dough into one inch balls.
Place onto ungreased cookie sheets.
Bake at 325 for 13-18 minutes or until edges are light golden brown.
Dip top of each cookie into powdered sugar.

Enjoy!

 

