Tags

, ,

Sorry I have been missing in action for a while. We have had a lot going on here at home with the holidays and Tim’s campaign.  Life will hopefully settle into a crazy tax season routine now.  We shall see!  Meanwhile…

The other day my friend Katie pinned this recipe, and so I pinned it too!  I was looking for something quick and easy for supper, and this was it!  I did add about 1 pound of cubed cooked chicken (I think that shrimp would be excellent as well.) and two cups of cooked broccoli.  We had enough food for two generous meals for Tim and I.

Please, do this recipe justice. Don’t use the green can of Parmesan. Grate or shred your own. It is SO much better, and it really is not that much more expensive. If you have never done it before, you will not believe how much grated or shredded you can get out of a wedge of Parmesan. Enjoy!

I did make more of the Alfredo sauce for the leftovers though. I had plenty of leftover milk and cheese, so I made a roux with three Tablespoons of butter, three Tablespoons of flour, about 1 1/2 cups milk and about 1/3 cup of the leftover shredded Parmesan.  That worked out great!

The recipe comes from http://www.sweetlittlebluebird.com.

Creamy Garlic Penne Pasta
Ingredients:
1 pound box of penne pasta, cooked according to box directions
1/4 cup salted butter
5-6 cloves of garlic, minced
4 Tablespoons flour
1 1/2 cups chicken broth
1 1/2 cups whole milk
4 teaspoons parsley flakes (I used two.)
2/3 cup fresh grated Parmesan cheese
1 teaspoon white pepper (more or less to your preference – this was added by me)

Directions:
Prepare pasta according to directions on the box. Set aside and keep warm.

In a medium size sauce pan over medium heat, melt butter and then add garlic, cook for 1 1/2 minutes.Next add flour and cook for 1 1/2 minutes stirring continuously. Slowly add milk and chicken broth, stirring continuously, until the sauce begins to boil and thicken. Once the sauce thickens, add cheese and parsley and blend until cheese is melted. Once sauce is ready, pour over pasta, toss and serve immediately.

Enjoy!
 

