Tags

, ,

It is or almost is that time of the year, rhubarb season. Dad always had rhubarb in his garden. Two really huge plants grew at the North end of the garden, and when I was little I thought it was so yucky. My opinion has certainly changed, and now I love rhubarb!

I am fortunate that there are plenty of vendors at the farmers market that sell it. I have cut and froze a lot of it. My stash is almost gone, so hopefully next weekend I will be able to get some!

This is a recipe that a former coworker shared with me. Please excuse the picture. My oven and I are not playing well together lately. My crust burned on the edges, and the filling got a lot darker than it should have.

image

Rhubarb Tort
Mix:
1 1/2 cup flour
3/4 cup butter
1/2 cup powdered sugar
3/4 teaspoon salt

Press into 9×13 pan and up the sides. Bake at 350 degrees for 10 minutes.

Beat:
3 eggs
2 1/4 cup sugar
3/4 cup flour
1 1/4 teaspoon baking powder
4 1/2 cups rhubarb
1 1/2 teaspoon vanilla

Pour into shell and bake at 375 degrees for 40 minutes.

Enjoy!

