Tags

,

It happened again. I needed/wanted something different to make with ground beef.  Off to Pinterest I went.  I was also on a mission to find a recipe that used stuff we had at home. We are on a pretty tight budget right now.  I was sure pleased to find this recipe.  I will be posting my altered recipe though.  πŸ™‚  I did not have enchilada sauce at home, so I used salsa instead.  Oh it was yummy!

So, the original recipe is here: http://life-in-the-lofthouse.com/beef-enchilada-lasagna-rolls/

Beef Taco Lasagna Rollups

Ingredients:
8 lasagna noodles
1 pound lean ground beef
1 1 ounce package taco seasoning mix (I used Savory Spices Taco Seasoning.)
4 ounces cream cheese, softened (You want this softened so you can spread it.)
10 ounces or so of salsa (I used a 16 oz jar less 1/4 cup I needed for a different recipe)
2 cups shredded taco/Mexican cheese (or more if you love cheese!)

Additional toppings for when you serve them:
sour cream
diced tomatoes
more salsa!
guacamole
sliced olives

Instructions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Boil lasagna noodles in a large pot of water until al dente according to package directions. Drain water and lay noodles flat out on parchment paper. (This step was AWESOME – I left them on the parchment paper and it made it so easy to stuff and roll!)

Meanwhile, cook and brown your ground beef in a large skillet. Drain grease. Add taco seasoning and water according to packet directions. Bring mixture to a boil, reduce heat and simmer for 10 minutes. Remove from heat.

Spray your 9×13 baking dish with some Pam. Pour half of the salsa on the bottom of your baking dish.

Spread 2 Tablespoons of cream cheese down the center of each lasagna noodle. I did not measure, I just grabbed some cream cheese on my knife and spread it out. Worked out great.

Top the cream cheese with a few Tablespoons of meat mixture and sprinkle with a bit of your taco/Mexican cheese. Roll up tight. Repeat with all noodles.

Place lasagna rollups into the prepared baking dish. Pour the rest of the salsa over the tops and sprinkle with remaining shredded cheese.

Cover with aluminum foil (I covered it even the original recipe said not too. I didn’t want any of the noodle that was not covered in sauce to get hard and crunchy.) and bake for about 25 minutes or until the cheese is melted and bubbly. Remove from oven and let stand for 5 minutes before serving.

Serve with your favorite toppings. I served refried beans as a side.

Here is a link to Savory Spices for the taco seasoning:  http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/blends/taco-seasoning.html

ENJOY!

 

