Tags

,

I pinned this recipe a while ago, and I finally had a chance to make it the weekend before last. We LOVED it. It made plenty of gravy to serve with another meal a couple of nights later. 

Let’s talk about the gravy for a minute. I used a Pinot Grigio we found. Tim thought that was a good choice for a dry white wine, so we went with it. I had no clue. You could really taste the wine in the gravy, and I loved it. I thought it really added to it.

The recipe calls for just two Tablespoons of flour. I ended up adding two more Tablespoons right at the end and whisking it a lot to be sure of no lumps. I did this after adding the butter. It was then the thickness I was looking for in a gravy. Now it may have been that I just didn’t give it enough time to thicken. I do have a patience issue. 🙂 I’m sure you will figure it out when you get to that point.

I alao used about 2 teaspoons of Lake Barkley Fried Chicken Seasoning from Savory Spices. I rubbed each piece of chicken with it. You can find it here: http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/blends/lakebark.html

One other note – I do not have an oven safe pan they required, so I did start it in a fry pan. Then I put everything into a glass 9×13 pan and covered it with foil to put it in the oven. Then I very, very carefully dumped the liquid out of the 9×13 back into the fry pan to make the gravy in the last step. Putzy but yummy!

This recipe was from Seasons and Suppers at http://www.seasonsandsuppers.ca/rustic-chicken-garlic-gravy/

Rustic Chicken with Garlic Gravy 

Ingredients
2 Tablespoons cooking oil
6-8 chicken thighs, skin on
Salt and freshly ground black pepper
20-22 cloves of garlic (2 full heads), separated and peeled (Tim smashed them a bit for me as well after I peeled them.)
2 Tablespoons flour
3/4 cup dry white wine
1 cup chicken broth
1 1/4 teaspoon fresh thyme or 3/4 teaspoon dried leaves
2 Tablespoons butter

Directions
Heat oven to 400°F with rack in center of oven.

In an oven safe dutch oven or big oven safe skillet with a lid, heat the oil over medium high heat. Dry the chicken pieces well by patting them with paper towel. Sprinkle the chicken pieces with salt and pepper (and additional seasoning if desired). Cook the chicken until well browned, turning regularly, for about 8 minutes in all. Then remove chicken to a plate. (This step took me more like 20 minutes.)

Reduce the heat to medium, add the garlic and cook, stirring regularly, until it starts to brown. Sprinkle the flour over the garlic and stir until combined. Return the chicken to the pot, cover and bake for 15 minutes in preheated 400° oven. (I baked mine for a good 25 minutes because it was not done.) You can cover your pan with foil if you do not have a lid. 

Remove the pot from the oven and put it on a burner. BE CAREFUL NOT TO TOUCH THE HOT POT! Remove the chicken pieces to a clean plate (I then covered the plate with foil.). Over medium high heat, whisk in the wine and simmer for about 1 minute. Whisk in the broth, thyme and a bit more salt and pepper, then reduce the heat and simmer, stirring regularly, until sauce thickens. Turn the heat off and stir in the butter. Add the chicken back to the pot to re-warm with the gravy. Serve spooned over smashed taters, rice or pasta.

ENJOY!


