Tags

, ,

I had this great recipe for chocolate zucchini cake. I know I did.  I was sure it was in my three ring binder. A former coworker had shared it with me, and it was a really good one.  It is gone.  I cannot find it.  So, I went to Pinterest to find a recipe to make using the zucchini Tim and I bought at the farmers market.  It is in season right now, and dirt cheap!

Thanks to the blog Moms Need to Know for this great recipe.  You can find it here: http://momsneedtoknow.com/double-chocolate-zucchini-muffins/ , but I am also going to post the details.  I didn’t change a thing.  My nephew Owen really liked them. I thought they were pretty darn good.  These are nice and moist.  I doubled the recipe because I had plenty of zucchini to do so. The recipe says it makes 12, but I came up with 30 muffins (double recipe).

Thank you to Tim for grating up the zucchini for me as I prepped the rest of this recipe. He is so good to me!

Double Chocolate Zucchini Muffins

Ingredients:
1 cup flour
1/2 cup unsweetened cocoa powder
3/4 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon baking powder
1/4 teaspoon salt
1/4 teaspoon cinnamon
1 cup chocolate chips
2 eggs
1/2 cup vegetable oil
1 cup sugar
1 teaspoon vanilla
1 1/2 cup grated raw zucchini

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350. Spray muffin tin or use liners (I recommend liners.).
Combine flour, cocoa powder, baking soda, baking powder, salt, cinnamon and chocolate chips. In a separate larger bowl, whisk together the eggs,oil, sugar and vanilla until combined. Stir the zucchini in to the egg mixture. Gradually add the dry mixture to the wet mixture until combined. Do not overmix. Fill muffin tins about 2/3 – 3/4 full. Bake for 22-25 minutes or until a toothpick inserted into the center comes out clean. Allow to cool for several minutes in pan before removing to a cooling rack.

Enjoy!

You can find the cocoa that I use here:  http://www.savoryspiceshop.com/unspecified/cocoa-powder-natural.html

