I still don’t think the economy is turning around like they want us to think it is. Sure, I will agree that it maybe isn’t as tough as it was in the past, but we have a long way to go to get our economy back to where it was. 

In a meeting with a financial advisor recently, I was asked if I was ok with letting my retirement plan that is invested in mutual funds ride it out again when the market takes a big dive as it did in 2008-2009. I was very blessed and came out of that mess ok. I am young enough that if it happens in the next 10-ish years, I will just ride it out again. Buy when it is low, right! 

I didn’t start this post to tell you about investing and retirement plans. I want to talk about happiness. My happiness specifically. 

I had what felt like a long stretch in my life of being unhappy. I was financially secure. I had a nice house, a nice car, a good job. I was able to buy for my stamping addiction at a decent rate every month. I could go out with friends. Money got tight here and there, but it wasn’t really a huge issue. 

I knew when I moved out on my own that money was going to be tight. I mean REALLY tight. I had a car payment, rent, insurance, utilities, groceries, etc. I wrote it all out, and knew I could do it. I like to see it in black and white. I’m a numbers girl. 🙂

My relationship with Tim grew.  I love him dearly, and after a few months I realized that it made more sense for us to live together than having separate places. We were together most of the time anyways. Tim moved in with me and Cheyenne. 

Money is still tight. We definitely live pay check to pay check. Our bills get paid every month. We have a really nice apartment. We go out and do a lot of free stuff. 

There are people that have made comments about our money situation.  Well, you can’t go out and do stuff now. You can’t do this or that. You can’t buy this or that. Nope. I sure can’t. I am pretty much 100% happy with that though. 

Mom and Dad taught me to pay the bills first and have fun with what was leftover. Most pay periods, that is not a lot. 

I may not be able to go out to eat as often as everyone else or go to the theater to see the latest movie or go to a concert of a favorite group. That is ok. 

I have happiness. I have been waiting a long time for it. A long time. I love being with Tim. I love our home most days. I still have a great job. I still have good friends. 

I don’t NEED to go out to the bar or movies or whatever wherever to be happy. I love having a nice meal at home with Tim. 

My happiness comes from me. It comes from knowing I can make it on my own. It is more enjoyable because I share it with Tim.

I have happiness knowing my family loves me. I have a strong faith. I have love. THOSE are the things that matter. Money can’t buy that stuff. 

I was looking for happiness in the wrong places for a long time. Happiness isn’t in stuff. It comes from inside of you. 

A new stamp set certainly is fun and makes me happy. What makes me even happier is the email, phone call or text I get saying thank you for thinking of me and sending me one of your cards. 

Happiness isn’t about getting what you want all the time.  It’s about loving what you have and being grateful for it.  – Author Unknown

I am so thankful for what I have. We won the trip to Jamaica last year. The biggest thing we learned on our trip was how blessed we are. We also learned that they are happy people. So many of them do not have much, but they are happy. How wonderful!

I am blessed. I am loved. I am happy. Are you?

