Tags

Years ago I remember my friend Teresa telling me how her kids go crazy for spaghetti squash with spaghetti sauce on it. I have been wanting to try it for a long time, so about a month ago or so, Tim and I finally bought one at the farmers market from our dear friends at Polzin Farms. 

I asked Chef Mark Brown how to prepare it. It is so handy to have a retired chef as a friend to ask a LOT of questions because I am still in the learning stages of this whole cooking thing. His sense of humor helps too! 

I have to be totally honest though. Tim did all of the cooking following Mark’s instructions.  I just ate and enjoyed! 

I love spaghetti squash! It is SO yummy! It is much healthier than pasta too (We did not butter our squash.). One squash made a nice meal for Tim and I along with a salad. The first time we had it, Tim put pesto on his, and I put spaghetti sauce on mine. Both were very yummy! This last time we both used spaghetti sauce and added just a bit of mozzarella cheese. YUM!!!

Spaghetti Squash
Courtesy of Mark Brown

Cut the squash in half lengthwise and remove the seeds. Rinse, pat dry, and rub with olive oil. Sprinkle with salt, pepper, thyme, garlic powder, onion powder, and basil. Place in a 9×13 pan cut side down. Add water to come half way up the squash. Place in a 375° oven for 45 minutes or until a knife goes through easily. Place on an elevated rack to cool for 15 minutes. Use a fork and working around the outer edge, pull gently inwards pulling the strands in. Pour melted butter over and add a little flat leaf parsley. Enjoy!

