Tags

, , ,

I finished up another set of Christmas cards. Twelve in this bunch as well.  That seems to be a good number for me.  I make around sixty cards each year for Christmas, and I usually really enjoy doing so!  I am a little bit behind this year, but not anywhere near how far behind I was last year!

This card uses a technique that requires an embossing powder with glitter in it.  The technique is called Dazzling Diamond Dust.  I use Iridescent Ice by Stampin’ Up!  They JUST retired it at the end of the last catalog, so May 31st.  I was able to buy up a few containers.  Whew!

I try to use smaller (not a whole card front) size pieces for this technique because it does use up quite a bit of your embossing powder.  First you stamp your image.  Color it if necessary.  Use your Versamark (or any watermark ink pad) to ink up the entire image, sprinkle your embossing powder over it, and heat it up.

The glitter is so fine it definitely tends to go all over.  You just cannot help it. I use baby wipes to keep my work table cleared of it as best as I can.  I usually end up wearing glitter for a few days after this technique and so does Tim. However, please do not let that dissuade you from trying this technique if you have not done so before.  The result is so pretty. I wish it photographed better.

20160930_071629

Stampin’ Up! items used:
Stamp Sets: Snowflake Soiree, Mini Mates
Card Stock: Bashful Blue, Brilliant Blue
Ink: Brilliant Blue, VersaMark
Other: Tag Punches, Iridescent Ice embossing powder, silver cord, eyelets, Crop-a-dile, Bashful Blue organza ribbon

NON SU! Product:
Papertrey Ink white card stock, Darice embossing folder, Frost Kaleidacolor Ink Pad

For step by step instructions, please go to this fabulous tutorial over at Splitcoast Stampers: http://www.splitcoaststampers.com/resources/tutorials/dazzling_diamond_dust/

