Tags

,

Tim has been having some sleep and energy issues lately, so I went looking for some foods I could make to help energize him. I have pinned some different recipes for these types of snacks. This is the only one I have made so far. Tim really liked them. I sent them along in his lunch. Yes, I make our lunches on work days. 🙂 See, I can be nice! 🙂

I used the Small Scoop from Pampered Chef to scoop these, and I made a LOT! 

I used peanut butter. I used sweetened coconut because that is what I had here. It seemed to work out ok. 

Well, WordPress is not letting me type the address where I found this. The website is Life Made Sweeter, and it was posted in January 2016. Sorry for the technical difficulties .  😦

Cranberry Coconut Energy Bites

Ingredients
1 medium very ripe bananas (about 1/4 cup) I did not measure this.
1/3 cup your favorite smooth nut or sun butter (slightly heated almond and peanut butter work well)
1 teaspoon pure vanilla extract
1/3 cup unsweetened coconut flakes
1 Tablespoon chia seeds or flax seeds (or a combo of both)
1 cup old fashioned or quick oats
1/3 cup dried cranberries

Optional ingredients
2 Tablespoons date paste, honey or agave
Chopped nuts or seeds

Directions
In a large bowl, mash the banana with a fork. Mix in nut butter and vanilla until smooth. *Stir in date paste or honey or agave if using.

Add shredded coconut, oats, chia seeds and mix until well combined. Stir in dried cranberries and add any other nuts of your choice.

Form into 1 inch – 1.5 inch balls and store in airtight container in refrigerator until ready to enjoy.

Notes:
Store in air tight container for up to one week in the fridge or up to 3 months in the freezer. Allow to sit out 10 minutes from freezer before serving.

You can place dough in the fridge for 30 minutes prior to forming dough balls if it’s easier to handle.

You can form these into cookies or granola bars by flattening the dough in an 8×8 pan if you prefer.

Enjoy!

