Tags

, ,

When I was growing up, Mom would always make a special supper for us on our birthday. She would ask us what we would like. While this casserole is nothing fancy, it has always been one of my very favorites. I asked for it more than once! 

I don’t have Mom’s recipe, but I found this one online. I made it for supper for us  a few weeks ago. It is still as yummy as I remember! Tim really liked it too! Yay!

This was found at http://www.stuckonsweet.com.

Meat Lovers Pizza Casserole 

Ingredients:
2 jars Prego Traditional Pasta Sauce
1 pound Italian sausage
2 teaspoons minced garlic
1 box rigatoni pasta
1 bag shredded mozzarella cheese (I used a 2 cup bag.)
1 bag pepperoni
2 Tablespoons olive oil

Directions
Preheat oven to 350°
Drizzle olive oil in a large saute pan and place over medium heat. Add sausage and cook until browned. Next add minced garlic and saute for an additional minute. Set aside until pasta is done.

While sausage is browning, bring a pot of water to a boil and cook the pasta for seven minutes. The pasta should be well undercooked. Drain pasta and put back into the large pot.

Count out 18 pepperoni and place to the side. Take the remaining pepperoni and cut into chunks.

To the pot of drained pasta add the browned sausage and garlic, two jars of sauce, sliced pepperoni and a handful of mozzarella cheese. Stir.

Put pasta into a 9×13 dish (I sprayed mine with cooking spray.), top with remaining mozzarella cheese and pepperoni slices. Bake at 350° for 15 minutes or until cheese is melted and pepperoni is crispy.

Enjoy!

If you give this a try, please let me know what you think of it. 🙂

