Tags

,

This was an interesting recipe I found on Allrecipes.com shared by Lois A Dupre.

Having read the comments, I decided to put it on a plate and use a fork to eat it instead of like a nachos appetizer. Some of my potato slices covered each other on the cookie sheet, so they didn’t get totally crisp. It was tasty, and it was a nice way to use up food we already had on hand. Money being a little tight this past month, I was happy to use stuff I already had on hand!

I did use a full pound of beef and doubled the amount of taco seasoning and water (so 4 Tablespoons each). I also used up salsa we had at home instead of the small chopped tomato. It was pretty good, and I would make it again.

Mexican Potato Nachos

Ingredients:
2 Tablespoons vegetable oil
2 large baking potatoes, sliced thin (the recipe says 1/2 inch, mine were more like 1/4 inch so they got nice and crisp)
salt and ground black pepper to taste

1 Tablespoon vegetable oil (I did not use this.)
1/2 pound ground beef
1 15 ounce can black beans, drained and rinsed
2 Tablespoons taco seasoning
2 Tablespoons water
8 ounces shredded Cheddar cheese, divided
1/4 cup shredded lettuce
1 small tomato, chopped
1/4 cup sour cream
1/4 cup guacamole

Directions:
Preheat oven to 450 degrees.
Pour 2 Tablespoons of vegetable oil in a large bowl; toss the potato slices in the oil to coat.
Arrange the slices in a single layer on a baking sheet and sprinkle with salt and pepper.
Bake in the preheated oven until the potato slices are golden brown, about 20 minutes. (I did leave mine in for the 20 minutes. They were nice and brown and mostly crisp except where some of them lay on top of other slices.)
While your potatoes are baking, heat the 1 Tablespoon of oil in a skillet over medium heat. Brown the ground beef in the hot oil, crumbling it as it cooks. (I never use oil to fry my ground beef.)Drain excess grease.
Mix the black beans into the ground beef, stir in the taco seasoning and water. Bring the mixture to a boil and reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer until the flavors blend, about 10 minutes. (Mine never really boiled. I don’t think there was enough water. However I stirred it all very well for a couple of minutes to be sure it was well combined.)
Arrange the potato slices on a serving platter and sprinkle with half of the cheese.
Top the potatoes with the meat and bean mix.
Sprinkle the rest of the cheese on the nachos.
Spread lettuce out over the nachos and garnish with tomoatoes, sour cream and guacamole.
(I spread the potato slices out on our plates instead of a platter and went from there. It was a filling meal for us.)

ENJOY!

