Tags

, ,

Tim and I love cilantro.  I think that if you like cilantro and black beans, you will like this recipe too!

The recipe tells you to use 1/4 – 1/2 cup fresh cilantro.  I went right down the middle with 1/3 cup, but next time I will use 1/2 cup. Tim said more than 1/2 cup would over power the other flavors, and we don’t want that!

This recipe went together very well for me. I measured everything out before I started cooking the chicken, and that went very well.  Next time I would season the chicken under the skin as well as on top, but that is just a personal preference of mine.

I bought two limes thinking I would need two to get the two Tablespoons of lime juice.  I only needed one!  All is well. I am sure we will find another use for the other lime.  Tim and I also enjoyed the lime flavor as it goes so well with the cilantro, so I was glad I used the two Tablespoons. YUM!

Regarding the rice – I used Uncle Ben’s rice. It took about 20 minutes to cook, and it turned out PERFECT!

I had some very large chicken thighs so I cooked them for five minutes on each side in step one, and I left them in the pan for thirty minutes in step two. Everything turned out perfect.

20170402_175732.jpg

One Pot Chicken Thighs with Cilantro-Lime Black Bean Rice

Ingredients:
1 Tablespoon Olive Oil
4 chicken thighs
2 cups chicken broth or vegetable broth
1/2 cup water
1 cup uncooked Jasmine rice (or any rice that will take 15 minutes to cook)
1/4 teaspoon salt
4 garlic cloves, minced
2 Tablespoons lime juice, freshly squeezed (use 1 Tablespoon first, before adding the other)
1 15 oz. can black beans, drained and rinsed
1/4 – 1/2 cup fresh cilantro, chopped

Instructions:
Heat a large skillet on medium-high heat until hot. Add olive oil. It should run easily because the skillet is hot but not sizzle or smoke. Season skin side of chicken thighs with salt and pepper. Sear them on medium-high heat in the skillet, skin side down for 5 minutes until skin is golden brown but not burned. Skillet should not be burned on the bottom. Flip the chicken thighs to the other side and sear for 2 more minutes on medium heat. Remove the chicken from the skillet. You will finish cooking it in the next step.

To the same, now empty, skillet, add chicken broth, water, uncooked rice, 1/4 teaspoon salt (I skipped this.), and minced garlic. Bring to boil. Mix everything well. Put the chicken on top, making wells for the in the rice. Reduce heat to low boil simmer. Cover the skillet with the lid. Simmer for 15-20 minutes, covered, until the rice is cooked through and the chicken is completely cooked.

Remove the chicken from the skillet. Mix in the 1 Tablespoon of lime juice, rinsed and drained black beans, and fresh cilantro into the cooked rice. Taste and add more salt and/or the rest of the lime juice if desired.

ENJOY!

Recipe from: http://juliasalbum.com/2016/05/one-pot-chicken-thighs-with-cilantro-lime-black-bean-rice/

