Tags

, ,

This is a recipe that is similar to the Bang Bang Chicken recipe I shared a few months ago. I found this at http://www.myincrediblerecipes.com.  It was a big hit with Tim. He had seconds!  Shrimp was on sale at Aldi, so I bought a few bags.  Living on a budget is hard, but it can be done!

I used Penne pasta because that is what we had on hand.  I think it worked well.

I didn’t see in the recipe directions when to use the olive oil. That may have been my bad since I was in a hurry.  I assumed it was for cooking the shrimp.  I added the olive oil to my skillet as it warmed. I added that to the directions.

For the Thai Sweet Chili Sauce, I used some of the Panda Express sauce that I had on hand from making their Sweet Fire Chicken Recipe.  It tasted great!

I wasn’t sure when to add the parsley either, and honestly I skipped it. 🙂

Bang Bang Shrimp Pasta
Ingredients:
1 lb spaghetti or your favorite pasta
1 1/2 lb medium shrimp
1 1/2 Tablespoon olive oil
3 cloves garlic, minced
3 teaspoons paprika
1 Tablespoon fresh parsley
Black Pepper to taste

Sauce Ingredients:
1/2 cup mayo
1/2 cup Thai sweet chili sauce
2 cloves garlic, minced
2 Tablespoons lime juice (I used fresh.)
1/4 teaspoon crushed red pepper flakes
1/ Tablespoon onion powder

Directions:
In a large bowl, mix together sauce ingredients, set aside.
Cook pasta according to box directions, Drain.
Place uncooked shrimp in a medium bowl. Add paprika, garlic and pepper. Stir.
In large skillet, on medium heat add oil and shrimp. Stir constantly while cooking until no longer pink (approx 10 minutes). Remove from heat. (at this point, I drained a lot of moisture from my skillet). In large bowl, combine shrimp, pasta and sauce. Mix well. Enjoy!

