Tags

, ,

I was asked to bring a dessert or appetizer to our family Christmas get together.  I thought about taking meatballs in bbq sauce.  Then I thought, well, that might be putzy to take along even though my crock pot has the lid that clasps on.  So, I went with these cute lil cookie cups.  Think fruit pizza in little individual size portions!  They are a bit putzy to make, but they are yummy!

20161224_085636.jpg

Aren’t they cute?  I used red and green fruit because I made them for Christmas – kiwi, strawberries and raspberries.  My nephews approved, so they HAVE to be good!

I prefer to use liners in my mini muffin pan for everything I make. They are so handy, and for $1.99 I get 75 of them at Michaels in the candy making area.

This recipe comes from the following: http://www.atthepinkofperfection.com/2012/11/sawpinnedconquered-fruit-cookie-cups.html

I used two rolls of cookie dough, and I doubled the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla.  I made 48 cookie cups, but I only had enough filling for 47.  I may have been a little too generous in some of them.  🙂  Ok, I do not have a frosting bag or whatever those are called, so I spooned the filling into a zip top sandwich bag (a quart size probably would have been much easier, so please try that instead!), and trimmed off a bottom corner just a bit so the filling could be squeezed out.

I could see these being a big hit at upcoming summer picnics or family get togethers!

Fruit Cookie Cups
Ingredients:
1 package Pillsbury Refrigerated Sugar Cookie Dough
1 8 oz package cream cheese, softened
1/4 cup sugar
1/2 teaspoon vanilla
Assorted fruit chopped to equal size pieces

Directions:
Preheat oven to 350 degrees and grease (or use liners) a 24 count mini muffin pan.
Slice the sugar cookie dough into 24 equal parts, roll into a ball, and place in each muffin cup. (I used my small scoop from Pampered Chef to do this.) Using your thumb mold the sugar cookie dough into the shape of the muffin tin, ensuring they stay equal thickness. (I used my scoop and just dropped the dough in each cup. The middle sunk on its own when they were done baking.) Bake at 350 degrees for 10-12 minutes. Keep an eye on them as every oven is different. Mine were done in about 8 minutes. Remove from oven when golden brown. They will be puffy, but they will settle down as they cool. Once cool, transfer to a serving platter, tray, etc. Mix the cream cheese, sugar and vanilla extract together. Pipe into the cooled cookies. Top with fruit. Enjoy!

