Tags

, , , ,

This recipe came from the Knorr website.  We use their rice and pasta sides frequently.  This recipe sounded different but good, so I figured we would give it a go.  We had them a week or so ago, and we really liked them. I did add some sharp Cheddar cheese that we had on hand. Next time I want to use their white cheddar queso rice instead. I have a feeling that would be really yummy too.

20170512_174255

Sorry I didn’t edit the picture at all.

Chili Lime Chicken Tacos
Ingredients:
1 pound boneless, skinless chicken breasts cut into bite size pieces
2 Tablespoons olive oil, divided
1 1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 clove garlic, finely chopped (I used my Pampered Chef garlic press)
2 Tablespoons fresh lime juice (2 limes)
1 medium poblano pepper, chopped (about 2/3 cup)
1 small red onion, chopped (about one cup)
1 package Knorr Rice Sides Rice Pilaf
8 corn tortillas or taco shells (I used flour tortillas.)

Directions:
Season chicken if desired with salt and pepper (I did not). Combine one Tablespoon olive oil with the chili powder in a large bowl. Add chicken and toss to coat.

Heat large nonstick skillet over medium heat and cook chicken, stirring frequently until thoroughly cooked (about six minutes). Add garlic to the skillet and cook, stirring, until fragrant, about 30 seconds. Add lime juice, toss. Remove and set aside.

Heat remaining 1 Tablespoon of olive oil in same skillet over medium-high heat and cook poblano pepper and onion, stirring occasionally,until softened, about 4 minutes. Add 2 cups of water to the skillet and the Knorr Rice Sides Rice Pilaf and cook according to package instructions.

When the rice is done, stir in the chicken.

Serve in tortillas or taco shells. Garnish with salsa verde, sour cream and lime wedges if desired. (I forgot the garnishments!)

ENJOY!

