Tags

, ,

I was very excited to find a recipe similar to one my Mom used to make.  This sauce is good on pancakes or ice cream.  I like it just plain out of a dessert dish as well. I do sometimes add just a bit more sugar than the recipe calls for. It really depends on how tart your rhubarb is. Take a lil taste while it is cooling to decide if you want/need more sugar.

I wanted to share this recipe now because I am seeing rhubarb at the farmers’ markets, and locally, strawberries have been very cheap in the stores as well as very yummy!

Mom cannot find a lot of her recipes, so I went in search of this. I found this recipe on the Pillsbury website.

Rhubarb does freeze very well. I cut it up into small pieces and measure it before freeing it. I usually freeze it in 2 or 4 cup packages.

Strawberry Rhubarb Sauce

Ingredients:
2 cups sliced fresh or frozen rhubarb
1/2 cup sugar
1/4 cup water
2 cups sliced strawberries

Directions:
In medium saucepan, combine rhubarb, sugar and water. Mix well. Bring to a boil. Reduce heat to medium-low. Simmer five minutes. Stir in strawberries. Cook 1 minute (you may want to cook it a little longer if you want the berries to break down a little more). Serve warm or cool.

Enjoy

