Tags

I was so excited to find a recipe that didn’t call for a pouch of seasoning packet stuff.  Those always seem to be filled with sodium.  Yes, a little salt is good for us.  I get that. This recipe called for a lot of spices that we already had at home, and I know Tim LOVES fajitas. Me, not so much, but that is ok.  I made these for him on a Monday night. He works late on Mondays, so I thought it would be nice to treat him to a yummy supper. It smelled so good while it was cooking, and he loved them!

You need time to marinate the ingredients, so please take that into account before you set out to make this! It doesn’t seem like it makes a lot of the marinade, but it really is enough. 🙂

This recipe was found at Add a Pinch at http://addapinch.com/steak-fajitas-recipe/

Steak Fajitas
Ingredients:
2 pounds skirt, flank, sirloin or hanger steak, sliced into 1/2 strips
1 red pepper, deseeded and sliced into thin strips
1 green or yellow pepper, deseeded and cut into thin strips
1 medium onion, peeled and cut into think strips
3 Tablespoons olive oil
1 tablespoon lime juice (I used a fresh lime.)
1/2 teaspoon chili powder
1 teaspoon ground cumin
pinch cayenne pepper
1/2 teaspoon salt
1/2 teaspoon fresh ground black pepper
2 cloves garlic, minced
6-8 tortillas, warmed

Optional Garnish:
sour cream, sliced avacado, guacamole, salsa

Instructions:
Place the steak into a sealable bag. Place the peppers and onion in a separate sealable bag. Add the olive oil, lime juice, chili powder, cumin, cayenne pepper, salt, black pepper and garlic to a jar with a tight fitting lid and shake until well combined. (I used my Pampered Chef Stainless Steel Mini Whipper and mixed them together in a bowl.) Pour 1/3 of the marinade over the steak, 1/3 over the vegetables and save the remaining 1/3 for use when cooking. Seal the bags tightly and refrigerate for one hour to overnight. (I only had an hour.)

When ready to cook, heat a large skillet over medium high heat. Pour the vegetables into the skillet and cook until just tender crisp, about five minutes. Remove the vegetables from the skillet to a plate and add steak strips to the same skillet. When the steak is cooked throughout (about 7-10 minutes) add vegetables back into the skillet along with the reserved marinade.

Serve with warm tortillas and desired optional garnishes.

ENJOY!

This is a link to the mini whipper I used. I LOVE my Pampered Chef tools.  I use them a LOT!
https://www.pamperedchef.com/shop/Cook%27s+Tools/Mixing+%26+Measuring/Stainless+Steel+Mini+Whipper/2635

