Tags

,

Those of you that are friends of mine on Facebook have seen me check in at the Salt Room.  My dear friend gave me a three weeks unlimited gift card when my allergies flared up, and the hives kicked in.  I was skeptical at first.  I thought it was some sort of hokey foofy place.

Tammra is the owner.  She is SUPER nice and very helpful.  When you stop in for your first visit, you fill out a form (as you do in most places).  While you are in your first therapy session, Tammra and her staff fill out a therapy plan for you based on the issues you have.

What types of issues do they work with you ask?  Great question!  Here is the list from their brochure:
Allergies, Asthma, COPD, cold & flu, cough, Cystic Fibrosis, Dermatitis, Ear Infections and Sinusitis

Salt therapy uses natural salt in a simulated microclimate (Salt Room). Pulverized salt is blown into the room for occupants to breathe in. You sit in zero gravity chairs in either a meditation type setting or a conversation setting. The sessions last for 45 minutes.

The salt works like an expectorant and helps with mucus clearance and improving lung function.  It kills harmful bacteria and soothes your respiratory system.

It can help strengthen your immune system!  Who wouldn’t want that!

I always choose the meditation room. I will tell you this – I relax enough to doze off and take a nap.

Have I noticed a difference? Yes!

My tree pollen allergies lead me to coughing, sneezing, runny nose, congestion, and worst of all hives. I started the therapy as my hives were kicking in. About an hour after I left the first session, my nose opened up, and I was able to get rid of a lot of the yuck that had been draining down the back of my throat. By the next morning my sore throat felt better. After the third session, I realized that my hives were not nearly as bad as they usually get. I have been to approximately 12 sessions. My hives are pretty much gone, and I never did flare up like I have in prior years. I am still blowing my nose a lot, but I am fine with that. Normally, by now, this would have settled into my chest and turned into bronchitis. I was labeled with chronic bronchitis several years ago. I am very content to have mild allergy reactions compared to what I suffer through most other years.

Infrared sauna therapy is also available. Since heat is one of my migraine triggers, we decided that the sauna therapy is not a good option for me.

Check out their website. Give Tammra and her staff a call if you have questions. They do offer an introductory visit so you can see what it’s all about.

The Salt Room does have locations all around the US, so be sure to Google them if you are interested.

Locally, this is the location I go to: http://saltroomlakecountry.com/

Thank you for stopping by!

