Tags

, , ,

I will admit that I was nervous to make these because of the frying part.  However, it was not at all scary, and they turned out quite yummy!  YAY!

My very favorite breakfast item that I enjoyed every morning in Jamaica was pancakes with bananas (might have been plantains) in them.  Seriously, I pigged out on them. I LOVED them.

I found this recipe on Pinterest for the fritters, and I thought, yep, I want to try those! I am so glad I did!

The lighting in our kitchen is so goofy, so please excuse that in the picture.

20170604_095219

Jamaican Banana Fritters
Ingredients:
3 ripe bananas, mashed
1 large egg
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
1/2 teaspoon ground cinnamon
1/4 teaspoon nutmeg
1/2 cup sugar
2 cups all purpose flour
1 Tablespoon baking powder
1/4 – 1/2 cup milk
Cinnamon Sugar for sprinkling on top

Directions:
Peel and mash the ripe bananas
Beat together egg, sugar, vanilla, cinnamon and nutmeg
Blend egg mixture with mashed bananas. Make sure it is well incorporated.
Sift flour and baking powder into the banana/egg mixture. Mix it all together.
If the batter seems to be too thick, add a little milk. (1/4 cup was plenty for my batch.)
Add oil to frying pan and place on medium high heat. Drop spoonfuls of the banana fritter batter into the hot oiled frying pan. Flip when you see the edges starting to get brown and golden.
When the fritters are done cooking, remove to a plate and sprinkle with cinnamon sugar.
ENJOY!

http://www.thatssoyummy.com/recipes/jamaican-banana-fritters/

