Tags

,

I have a confession.  I may have already posted this recipe.  However, somehow, a few of my posts from the past were deleted.  Me thinks maybe it was Gremlins.  I am not sure.

This recipe is good enough to post it twice regardless!  With Labor Day weekend coming soon, I thought it might be fun to share some recipes that you can take along to those family picnics or just enjoy yourself at home!

Tim and I were at a cookout at our friends Sandy & Nick’s house.  Sandy is a great cook, and she always serves something that has me asking for the recipe.  No doubt, she did it again!  This time it was beans. I will say though that Nick made the beans this time!

The directions are not very specific, so I am going to say that you mix together the sauce ingredients before adding them to the other ingredients. Give this recipe a try and enjoy it!

Aunt Betty’s Settler Beans
Ingredients:
1 can kidney beans
1 can butter beans with molasses
1 28 oz can pork & beans
1 pound ground beef (cooked with the onion and crumbled)
1/2 pound bacon (cooked and diced up)
1/4 cup onion, diced

Sauce:
1/2 cup ketchup
1/2 cup white sugar
1/2 cup brown sugar
2 Tablespoons dark molasses
1/2 teaspoon dry mustard

Combine ingredients and bake at 350 degrees for 1 1/2 hours.

Enjoy!

